22nd Meeting of the Intergovernmental Committee of Experts of the Sub-regional Office for Eastern Africa
Implementing the African Continental Free Trade Area in Eastern Africa: From Vision to Action
Tuesday, November 20, 2018 to Thursday, November 22, 2018
Kigali, Rwanda

The Sub-Regional Office for Eastern Africa (SRO-EA) of the UN Economic Commission for Africa (ECA) will hold the 22nd Session of its Intergovernmental Committee of Experts (ICE) in Kigali, Rwanda. The ICE is a body set up by the General Assembly of the United Nations and is the statutory organ of the ECA Office for Eastern Africa. It includes representatives of the fourteen member States1 served by the office, as well as Regional Economic Communities (RECs) and Intergovernmental Organizations (IGOs) of the sub-region, development partners, research centres and other stakeholders.

The ICE meets annually on a rotational basis in the different countries covered by the office. The objectives are three-fold: 

i) To define and review the implementation of the work programme of the SRO-EA; 

ii) To discuss key issues and challenges pertaining to the economic and social development of the region, with the view to making appropriate recommendations; 

iii) As a forum to strengthen partnerships and cooperation between stakeholders to sustain regional integration and accelerate the pace of economic development.