



Fifth Africa Climate Talks

Climate change and development in Africa: a critical inquiry into third generation NDCs (NDC 3.0) and just transitions for Africa

22 April 2024 Conference Room 4, United Nations Conference Centre Addis Ababa and Online

Programme

Time (Addis Ababa local time)	Description
9–9.45 a.m.	 Session 1: High level opening statements Moderator: James Murombedzi, United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (UNECA) (p) Samuel Kifle, Interim President, University of Addis Ababa (p) Mithika Mwenda, Pan African Climate Justice Alliance (PACJA) (p) Joachim Beijmo, Head, Regional Development Cooperation in Africa, Swedish Embassy in Addis Ababa (Tbc) James Kinyangi, Coordinators, ClimDev-Africa Special Fund, African Development Bank (AfDB) (Tbc) Harsen Nyambe, Director, Blue Economy and Sustainable Environment, African Union Commission (AUC) (p) Joyce Banda, Former President of Malawi (p) Official opening: Seyoum Mekonnen, State Minister, Climate Change and Demography, Ministry of Planning and Development, Ethiopia (p)
9.45–10.45 a.m.	Session 2: Keynote address: Climate Change and Development in Africa since 2015. How far have we come? Moderator: James Murombedzi, UNECA (p) Presenter: David Lesole, University of Botswana (p) Discussion



Time (Addis Ababa local time)	Description
10.45–11.45 a.m.	Session 3: Reflecting on the first Global Stock Take (GST) outcome, what next for Africa? Moderator: Harsen Nyambe, African Union Commission (AUC) (p)
	Presentation on global perspectives: Annett Moehner, UNFCCC (v) Panellists:
	 Ephraim Mwepya Shitima, Department of Green Economy and Climate Change, Ministry of Green Economy & Environment, Zambia (v) Joe Bongay, Coordinator, PACJA Gambia (p) Washington Zhakata, Ministry of Environment, Water and Climate, Zimbabwe (v) Mensur Dessie Nuri, Ministry of Planning and Development, Ethiopia (p) Augustine Njamnshi, Political & Technical Committee, PACJA Board (p) Discussion
11.45–12.00 p.m.	Coffee break
12.00–1.00 p.m.	Session 4: Post 2023 GST, how can the new generation of NDCs contribute to progressive climate action? Moderator: Frank Rutabingwa, UNECA (p) Presentation on key elements of a progressive NDC for Africa: Saudamini Bagai, UNFCCC (v)
	 Panellists: Benjamin Karmoh, Environmental Protection Agency of Liberia (p) Siphiwe Dlamini-Sibandze, Ministry of Economic Planning and development, Eswatini (p) Meron Tesfamichael, World Resources Institute (WRI) Africa (p) Gebru Gembre Endalew, Global Green Growth Institute (GGGI) Regional Office, Ethiopia (Tbc) Mwanahamisi Singano, Women's Environment & Development Organization (v) Anna Shampi, Northern Vision Kenya (p) Yared Abera, Loss & Damage Working Group, Addis Ababa University (p)

Time (Addis Ababa local time)	Description
	Discussion
1.00–2.00 p.m.	Lunch break
2.00–3.00 p.m.	Session 5: Recent trends in financing climate action: Implications for Financing NDC 3.0 Moderator: Leah Wanambwa, AUC (v)
	 Panellists: El Hadji Mbaye Diagne, Chair of Supervisory Body for Article 6.4 (v) Martha Bekele, Development Initiatives, Ethiopia (p) Chantal Naidoo, Rabia Transitions Initiative, South Africa (p) Brian Githinji, Policy Action Initiative (p) Msololo Joseph Onditi, Forum on Climate Change (FORUMCC), Tanzania (p) Tsaone Mokwatso, Negotiator, Botswana (p) Discussion
3.00–4.00 p.m.	Session 6: Delivering Progressive NDC 3.0 - Just Transitions Moderator: Linus Mofor, UNECA (p) Panellists: • Xolisa Ngwadla, Independent Consultant, South Africa (p) • Eugene Nfongwa, PACJA (p) • Sahele Fekede, The African Climate Foundation (p) • Lucky Abeng, South South Youth Platform on Climate Justice (p) • Thapelo Letete, Zutari, South Africa (p) Discussion
4.00–4.15 p.m.	Coffee break
4.15-5.15 p.m.	Session 7: Delivering Progressive NDC 3.0 - Open Mic General Discussion Moderator: James Murombedzi, UNECA (p)

Time (Addis Ababa local time)	Description
5.15–5.45 p.m.	Session 8: Closing statements. Moderator: James Murombedzi, UNECA (p) Mithika Mwenda, PACJA (p) Samuel Kifle, University of Addis Ababa (p)
	 Andrea Camponogara, UNFCCC (v) James Kinyangi, AfDB (v) Harsen Nyambe, AUC (p) Nassim Oulmane, UNECA (p)