Country Profiles 2015

Country Profiles

Country profiles are flagship products of ECA, intended to serve as a vehicle for the production and dissemination of country- and region-specific policy analyses and recommendations, geared towards promoting sustainable growth and social and economic transformation, deepening regional integration, development planning and economic governance, and contributing to the mitigation of various risks that could impact on member States’ development efforts. The ECA country profiles are intended to provide periodic assessments focusing on policy analysis, regional integration and economic transformation, and provide a tool for forecasting and risk analysis. The country profiles will also provide pertinent and strategic recommendations to national and regional institutions. They are envisioned as a valuable and unique source of comparative data for academics, civil society and analysts.  Twenty country profiles are published in March 2016, covering the period September 2014 to September 2015. Countries covered have been selected from all five subregions and include:

Kenya, Rwanda, Uganda and Tanzania for the East Africa subregion;

Cameroon, the Central African Republic, the Congo and Sao Tome and Principe for Central Africa;

Egypt [Arabic], Morocco [Arabic] and the Sudan [Arabic] for North Africa;

Côte d’Ivoire, Guinea, the Niger and Senegal for West Africa;

and Botswana, Lesotho, Namibia, Zambia and Zimbabwe for Southern Africa.


Quarterly updates



Deputy Executive Secretary, Giovanie Biha - Interview

Launch of Africa-wide Country Profiles on 3 April 2016 - An invitation


Country Profiles Launch - Streamed live on April 3, 2016