Subregional Coordination Mechanisms

The subregional coordination mechanisms (SRCMs), which were established in the context of the African Economic Community, were conceived as an extension of the arrangements made by United Nations agencies to coordinate their activities at the subregional level. Thus, the mechanisms add a new dimension to coordinated and joint activities at subregional level that are promoted by the regional economic communities and intergovernmental organizations, with technical and financial support from United Nations agencies and other development partners.

There are currently 4 SRCMs for which the ECA Subregional Offices act as coordinator/secretariat.  They are:

  1. Central Africa
  2. Eastern and Southern Africa
  3. North Africa
  4. West Africa.