About the office

The Sub-Regional Office for Eastern Africa (SRO-EA) is based in Kigali, Rwanda and covers Burundi, Comoros, D.R Congo, Djibouti, Ethiopia, Eritrea, Kenya, Madagascar, Rwanda, Seychelles, Somalia, South Sudan, Tanzania and Uganda.

The SRO-EA serves two Regional Economic Communities (RECs): Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD) and East African Community (EAC); and Three intergovernmental Organisations (IGOs): The Economic Community of the Great Lakes Countries (CEPGL), The International Conference on the Great Lakes Region (ICGLR) and Indian Ocean Commission (IOC).

The signing of the African Continental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA) in March 2018 was a tremendous milestone for regional integration in Africa.  However, the success of the AfCFTA depends on its effective implementation. SRO-EA has expertise on many pertinent themes related to the effective implementation of the AfCFTA. SRO-EA previous work has hinged on issues of trade in goods and services, the movement of labour and social cohesion, women in cross-border trade, mainstreaming 

ECA/SRO-EA holds its statutory Intergovernmental Committee of Experts (ICE) annually to discuss key issues and challenges pertaining to the economic and social development of the sub-region and make appropriate recommendations to address them. The ICE brings together high-level experts from Eastern African member States, Regional Economic Communities (RECs) and Intergovernmental Organizations (IGOs), development partners, research centres and other various stakeholders.