About the office

To visit the Observatory: Clic here

The Sub-Regional Office for West Africa of the Economic Commission for Africa (ECA/SRO-WA) is one of the five Sub-Regional Offices in Africa. Located in Niamey, Niger it serves the 15 countries members of the Economic Community of Western African Countries (ECOWAS): Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Côte d'Ivoire, the Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, and Togo.

ECA/SRO-WA activities are directed towards strengthening development cooperation and sub-regional integration within the framework of NEPAD and internationally-agreed goals, including those set out in the Millennium Declaration.

In addition, ECA/SRO-WA coordinates the position of Members States on a broad spectrum of socio-economic development issues. ECA/SRO-WA also works in close partnership with RECs, particularly the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS), West African Economic and Monetary Union (UEMOA), MRU and other intergovernmental organizations, the academia, the private sector, and civil society organizations.

The ECA/SRO-WA is reporting to the Inter Governmental Committee of Experts (ICE) composed of high ranking civil servants of all members states of the sub-region. For that purpose ICE is holding annual meeting to discuss the activities of the Office and give directives regarding the elaboration of the ECA/SRO-WA work plan.

18th meeting of the Intergovernmental Committee of Experts for West Africa