You are here

United Nations Economic Commission for Africa

Who we are: 

Established by the Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) of the United Nations (UN) in 1958 as one of the UN's five regional commissions, ECA's mandate is to promote the economic and social development of its member States, foster intra-regional integration, and promote international cooperation for Africa's development.

Made up of 54 member States, and playing a dual role as a regional arm of the UN and as a key component of the African institutional landscape, ECA is well positioned to make unique contributions to address the Continent’s development challenges. Read more...



2020 review of progress made on the programme of action for the least developed countries 

A Harmonized Implementation Framework for the New Urban Agenda in AfricaAgenda Africa 

Africa’s quarterly economic performance and outlook 

Climate Change and Development in Africa Post COVID-19: Some Critical Reflections 

Climate Research for Development in Africa Programme strategy 

COVID-19 in Africa Protecting Lives and Economies 

COVID-19 in African cities 

COVID-19 Crisis in North Africa 

ECA Policy Brief 

Économie politique d’une transition vers l’économie verte en Afrique 

How COVID-19 is changing the world: a statistical perspective 

2020 Innovative Finance for Private Sector Development in Africavisual 

Institutional architecture to address illicit financial flows from Africa 

Le COVID-19 en Afrique Sauver des vies et l’économie 

Macroeconomic and Social developments in Eastern Africa 2020 

Towards an African nanotechnology future 

On Sustainable Development Goal 7 




Related links

Executive secretary

Former executive secretaries

Our work